6 tips to overcome Self Harm

Did you know that 70% of young people between the ages of 10-14  attend  A&E for self-harm related reasons over the preceding 2 years?

“It’s usually a way of coping with or expressing overwhelming emotional distress.”-NHS

Throw the tool away

Throwing the tool away will prevent you from self-harming. Throw away the razor blade and anything else that will cause harm to you.

Talk to friends and loved ones

I remember being in such an awful place in my life. I self-harmed for ages! I would wake up in the middle of the night and feel my arm and hands stinging from the fact that I cut myself an hour ago. I needed a change, I didn’t want to continue having suicidal thoughts and feeling like garbage. I remember telling my mom everything and letting her know, I was self-harming. Releasing that emotion and notifying my mom set me free. I knew I was going to get the right help. I was no longer trying to do things by myself. Talking can set you free.

Every day is a new day

Make goals to encourage you to strive for a better future and a more positive wellbeing. Tell yourself ‘tomorrow, I won’t self-harm.’ And push yourself. To some people, that goal may seem unrealistic, therefore, change it.

Whatever, your goal may be, push yourself to improve each day.

Find alternatives

Find alternatives ways to handle and channel your emotions. Maybe buy a squeeze ball, which you can squeeze every time you feel stressed or emotionally unstable. If that isn’t your cup of tea, try verbalizing your emotions and release that weight off your shoulders.

Regain your confidence, self-esteem and inner being

GO OUT. Enjoy life. At the end of the day, this life is temporary. So why wallow away in self-pity- when you can make the most of this life. Learn from your experiences and take baby steps to improve your inner being.

One day at a time. There’s no rush, this life isn’t a race.

Look at the positives

Shout to Beth for suggesting I make this happiness jar. Recently, if you saw my How to get through heartbreak you’d know, I’ve been struggling. I need to start looking at the positives in life and continue choosing to stay happy. Therefore, my beautiful friend suggested I make a happiness jar. Each day, I write something down I feel happy about, date it and pop it in the jar. I want to be able to physically see the positives rather than forget about them in a busy day.

How did you overcome a mental health battle? Leave your thoughts below.

Keep up to date on my journey using  twitter and Instagram 

Until next time,

J.

2 thoughts on “6 tips to overcome Self Harm

Leave a Reply

